RIP Harold Ramis

Posted: February 25, 2014 in Movies, Op-ed
Tags: , , , , ,

20140225-090204.jpg

Harold Ramis was responsible for a lot of my laughter growing up. The first laughs came with Animal House, Caddyshack and Stripes. Movies I was probably too young for at the time but thankfully my pop let me watch them with him anyway. That was back before I appreciated the writers of films or really grasped how film making worked. Those three films easily make it into the list of my favorite movies and each are tied to memories of my pop and I laughing over the years as we watched them again and again. Thank you Mr. Ramis.

Mr. Ramis is possibly best know for his role in a film I professed my love for last year as being one of the movies I’m most thankful for, Dr. Egon Spengler in Ghostbusters, which he wrote with Rick Moranis and Dan Aykroyd. He would reprise the role five years later in Ghostbusters II which he also wrote with Aykroyd. While a third Ghostbusters film has been in the works for years, it looks like now a reboot is more likely and possibly a better choice than having Ghostbusters III without Egon.

I’ll end by mentioning Groundhogs Day. Ramis cowrote and directed this film about a man reliving the same day over and over until he gets it right. Its another of my “if its on, watch it” films that I can watch anytime and its also a film I connect with happy memories, this time the laughs were shared with my Ma.

As I said in the opening paragraph, Harold Ramis has been responsible for a lot of my laughter growing up and he will be missed. He had a hand in more films than I’ve mentioned here but I chose my favorites. I can’t think of a better way to end this than with the words of my good friend Heath, whom upon learning of this tragic news texted me “Goddammit, I no longer want to live here.” Till next time friends, stay entertained.

-D

@ShitAboutFuck
@dhbates87
@onetripdown

Comments
  1. Jason says:

    Excellent post! We are linking to this great article on our website.
    Keep up the good writing.

Leave a Reply

