Prisoners

Posted: January 15, 2014 in Movies, Op-ed, Reviews
Tags: , , , , ,

As you all have undoubtedly figured out by now, the crew here at YDKSAF are kind of movie buffs. We love films of all genres, budgets, and levels of star power. So, needless to say, we watch alot of movies. I made my weekly Redbox raid yesterday to catch up on some new films that I wasn’t quite confident enough in to purchase. One of the films that ended up in my stack was Prisoners.

I remember seeing the previews for this film on, it seemed like, every movie I saw in theaters this summer. I was intrigued by both the plot and the cast but, somehow managed to miss it during it’s theatrical run. Now that I have watched it, im glad I spent my time and money on it.

Hugh Jackman and Terrence Howard star as th fathers of two young girls who go missing following a two family Thanksgiving dinner. There is a pretty obvious suspect and successful detective Jake Gyllenhaal is on the case. After the prime suspect is released on lack of evidence, Jackman’s character is naturally pretty pissed. Things subsequently spiral out of control and a lot of unsavory events take place followed by some pretty good twists and turns leading to an unsuspected conclusion.

Simply put, films like this are the reason I watch and films in the first place. It has an emotionally gripping story that is suited really well by the cast. The performance of the characters is almost uncomfortable to watch simply because it feels so real. This one is definitely worth your money and your time, be ready though it clocks in at just over two and a half hours. Till next time friends…

Leave a Reply

