25 Films Of Christmas: Jingle All The Way

Posted: December 13, 2013 in Movies, Op-ed, Reviews
Tags: , , , , ,

Christmas is bearing down on us much more quickly than I realized until today. In just a week and a half, Santa will be making his big trip and eyes will be lighting up as those longed for toys and electronics are unwrapped. For this entry I chose my most favorite holiday movie. I grew up in a time when Arnold Schwarzenegger was pretty much the biggest star in Hollywood. The man could do no wrong, especially in my opinion. So it was only natural that when he made a Christmas movie, it quickly became my favorite and remains so to this day.

This story begins with Howard Langston (played by Schwarzenegger, side note…why is it that he always got cast as characters with overly Americanized names?), an over worked, corporate executive who is constantly letting his young son down. His wife reminds him well ahead of Christmas to pick up a deluxe Turbo Man action figure for their son as one of his gifts. Naturally, he forgets until Christmas Eve. He begins his impossible mission with every stop ending in disappointment. He finally begins a cat and mouse chase with postman Myron Larabee (portrayed by Sinbad) as they are both hunting for the same figure. There is also a hilarious subplot involving Ted Maltin (the late great Phil Hartman) trying to hook up with Howard’s wife.

This is a great family film, hands down. Also a great film to get you in the mood for the season. I havent had my yearly viewing yet, but I assure you its coming soon. As with many of my other holiday favorites, I hope that my son develops a love, or at the very least an appreciation, for these films. I certainly intend to share them with him every opportunity that I get. Happy Holidays from my family to yours.

-Heath

Follow us on Twitter!!
@ShitAboutFuck
@onetripdown
@dhbates87

Leave a Reply

