The Wolverine

Posted: December 6, 2013 in Movies, Op-ed, Reviews
Tags: , , , , ,

Obviously not one of our Christmas films.

X-men is by far my longest running comic obsession. When the first film came out back in 2000, I had a complete and utter nerd boy freak out. Wolverine has always been my favorite character and getting to see him on the big screen live and in person was incredible. Now, after six films, I cant imagine anyone but Hugh Jackman playing him. He personifies the character so well and adds so many new layers that he completely recreates Wolverine.

Honestly, I was slightly less than thrilled when I heard they were making another stand alone film. I wasn’t totally in love with his last solo film, in my opinion it took too many liberties, and the whole Japan storyline isn’t my favorite. Long story short, Logan is called to Tokyo to say goodbye to an old acquaintance who offers to take away his immortality so he can grow old and die. Through an unfortunate series of events, Logan’s hand is forced and his healing factor is taken. After some pretty intense battles and some surprising twists and turns, Logan comes out of hiding and returns to the states to live life with a renewed outlook.

To say the least, I fucking loved this film. This is by far my favorite representation of Wolverine. It finally portrays Logan with a lot of real depth and darkness. It tells a good, almost western like version of the Japan story and offers an interesting take on the Silver Samurai. My inner 10 year old was nerding out for the entire 2hr 18min run time of the unrated version. Give it a watch if you want to see a truly good film.

-Heath

@ShitAboutFuck
@onetripdown
@dhbates87

Leave a Reply

