The Shawshank Redemption

Posted: November 11, 2013 in Movies, Op-ed, Reviews
Tags: , , , , ,

This movie has been around and been a part of my life for as long as I can remember. Much like it is for many other people, it is very special for me. This is one of the first movies that I really remember watching WITH my mom and not just dragging her/being dragged to. My mom is pretty much the main reason I am as big of a cinephile as I am and this movie is the main catalyst in sparking that obsession.

Even from a young age I knew that there was something special about this movie. There were so many deeply rooted themes and sentiments that were completely lost on my eight year old self but nonetheless, I knew it meant something. Over the years I have viewed this film countless times and it is a different experience every time. I always pick up some new nuance here or meaningful look there but, it never gets old.

I always have and always will love this film. It is a permanent entry on my all time top ten favorites list. I am very thankful for this film and to my mom for letting me watch such an inappropriate film for an eight year old way back when it was first released on VHS. This is one of only a handful of films that she and I actually agree on. I am also incredibly thankful as well that we have that to discuss and bond over. Till next time friends…

-Heath

Follow us on Twitter (but not before subscribing to the blog)

@ShitAboutFuck
@onetripdown
@dhbates87

Leave a Reply

