“We’re on a mission from god.”

Ahhhh The Blues Brothers. It was my first introduction to the world of musicals outside of the Disney universe. The thanks for this one goes to my pops again. I was maybe ten give or take a year or two and it was “The Late Late Movie”. Being a weekend, I felt like I could stay awake for ever and luckily for me, my pop loved The Blues Brothers. So instead of the usual “Time for bed”, I heard “wanna watch a movie?” My mind was blown. It was after midnight and my pop asked me if I wanted to watch a movie. Hell yeah I wanted to watch a movie. I settled in as pops grabbed us some drinks and chips. My head was spinning, my world was upside down, after midnight, a movie, sodas and chips…all that was missing was us snorting lines of Nesquik and a clown making ballon animals…

“Its 106 miles to Chicago, we got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, its dark…and we’re wearing sunglasses.”

The Blues Brothers is the story of a couple of brothers trying to save the orphanage where they grew up and will stop at nothing to do so. It starts with Jake being released from prison and his brother Elwood picking him up in an old cop car. From there the situations they find themselves in get more outrageous and the laughs keep rolling in, Illinois Nazis, a crazed Carrie Fisher, a performance in a country/western bar and an epic car chase keep this movie packed with action and laughter. Theres so many great performances by outstanding musicians, I should really give the soundtrack its own discussion.

For introducing me to the world of musical comedies, for keeping me up past midnight, for introducing me to some great music and giving me another great movie memory, for all those reasons and more, I’m thankful for The Blues Brothers. Till next time friends, stay entertained.

-D

@ShitAboutFuck
@dhbates87
@onetripdown

Leave a Reply

