“If theres something strange, in your neighborhood, who you gonna call?”

Ghostbusters was the first movie I watched in a theater. My pop took me the last week it was showing. Having never been into a theater I was instantly amazed by everything. Pops let me tell the lady behind the glass that we needed “two tickets for Ghostbusters please” and magically they popped up from the counter. We entered and my senses went into overload, the sounds of people heading off into different theaters, the smell of fresh popcorn, the posters for coming attractions…I took it all in and it went straight to my soul. I was hooked and we hadn’t even made it in to see the movie yet. We got our refreshments and headed toward the doors with the “Ghostbusters” sign over it where we were greeted by a man asking to see our tickets. He then gave me the responsibility of keeping my ticket stub in case I needed to leave the movie so I could get back into the theater. We walked in, picked our seats and waited for the movie to start. I remember the lights going down and the screen coming to life…if you haven’t watched it because you’ve been blind or dead or belong to some weird cult that hates good movies then let me lay it out for you.

“Ray, if someone asks you if you’re a god, you say YES!”

Strange shit is going down in New York…well paranormal shit is going down in New York and its up to Drs Peter, Ray and Egon to investigate it. Like the title of the movie suggests, they become Ghostbusters and business takes off. They get a headquarters, secretary, commercials and eventually Winston is hired. Things continue down the dark path, there are demon dogs, the lovable Slimer, Gozer tries to get rid of the fellas with a huge marshmallow man and they even find time to throw in a love story and yes of course, the Ghostbusters save the day.

“We came, we saw, we kicked its ASS!”

Written by Dan Aykroyd and Harold Ramis and starring those two plus Bill Murray, Ernie Hudson, Sigourney Weaver, Annie Potts, Rick Moranis and many others, Ghostbusters is one of those great films I can watch over and over. One of those that if I’m flipping through and its on, I stop and watch, I quote lines from this film and it easily makes it into my top five comedies. It was my first real introduction to comedy and was one of the films I enjoyed watching over and over with my pops throughout the years. Thats why I’m thankful for the movie Ghostbusters. Till next time friends, stay entertained.

-D

@ShitAboutFuck
@dhbates87
@onetripdown

Comments
  1. Jack Flacco says:

    Great knowing about your experience! I loved Ghostbusters when it came out. Still do, of course. I thought it was inventive, imaginative and just plain ol’ fun! I’m sad to have learned a while ago that Ramis and Murray are no longer on speaking terms since working on Groundhog Day, but I guess that’s how it goes with anything, really. Nevertheless, Great review, also!

Leave a Reply

