Flashback: Who Framed Roger Rabbit

Posted: July 12, 2013 in Op-ed
Tags: , , , ,

If you haven’t watched Who Framed Roger Rabbit I urge you friends, stop reading this, grab a copy and give it a watch, otherwise reading this may spoil it for you. If you’re still reading then you know that Judge Doom was behind it and we can move on.

When I first watched this film as a kid, it blew my mind, cartoons and real people interacting, Warner Brothers and Disney characters in the same film, it was almost too much for me to handle. The dueling piano scene between Daffy and Donald Duck (no relation) remains one of my favorites. This scene is followed by Jessica Rabbit performing a sexy rendition of “Why Don’t You Do Right?”, a scene that ushered my pre-pubescent brain a little closer manhood.

Bob Hoskins turns in a wonderful performance as hardass, toon hating, private detective Eddie Valiant. His song and dance routine near the end of the film never fails to crack me up. Kathleen Turner provides the breathy speaking voice for Jessica Rabbit, delivering the movies most memorable line, “I’m not bad. I’m just drawn that way.” I’m not sure if I believe her friends but I find myself really wanting too. Charles Fleischer gives Roger his voice, along with one of my favorite toons from this film, Benny the Cab. Rounding out this brief cast discussion is Christopher Lloyd as the villainous cartoon in human disguise, Judge Doom, the criminal mastermind who wants to destroy Toon Town for profit. The entire cast makes this film and easy and enjoyable watch.

This is one of those films I can and have watched over and over again. Anytime I’m flipping through the channels and come across it, I find myself watching it. I fear in time this film will fall prey to the dreaded Hollywood remake machine like many of my childhood favorites but maybe by that time I will have developed Alzheimer’s.

Keeping it short as always, I love everything about this movie and recommend it to everyone.
Watch it, love it and always keep it in your queue.

-D

Leave a Reply

