I went into this film thinking there was no way it could live up to the hype. Thankfully I was wrong. If you’ve seen the trailers then you know the plot. Actors playing versions of themselves get together for a party, the rapture happens, people die and the main characters try to survive the apocalypse.

I was concerned that as funny as the trailers were they may have given away all the laughs, again I was wrong. This film hits the ground running and keeps the laughs coming for the nearly two hour race to the end. I warn you friends, if you don’t enjoy low brow humor, this is not the film for you. If you enjoy movies about drug use, masturbatory discussions and demons, then I strongly suggest you go see this film. To any of you potheads out there, this is the film to get baked and go see.

I thought the actors did a great job of poking fun at themselves and each other. I never felt that any of them were trying to one up the others and the movie really felt as if a group of friends were dealing with the end of the world in the best way they knew how. There are a lot of actors with cameos in this film but Michael Cera steals every scene he is in.

This is one of the funniest films I have watched in a while. The entire audience was laughing for the entire film and I can honestly say I have never been in a theater where that has happened. I watched this film at a free screening but would happily go back to pay and watch it again when it opens. That’s how much I enjoyed it.

I hope I’ve given you enough opinion without giving anything away. This Is The End was extremely funny and even had some “what the hell” moments. So to wrap this up, I give This Is The End a very strong: Watch It In Theaters

-D

Leave a Reply

