(Reel) men don’t cry at movies

Posted: June 3, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

Having been bombarded by trailers for Man Of Steel and seeing the scene with a young Clark and Jonathan Kent, I think it’s safe to say I may shed a tear during this film. I’m not talking a What Dreams May Come emotionally draining kind of breakdown, just a tear or two, wiped away quickly as I glance over at my friends in time to see them doing the same. Damn movies.

They’ve done it to me for years, make me cry that is. The first offender was Old Yeller followed closely by Where The Red Fern Grows, both I watched for the first time in the second grade. Congratulations to Mrs. Addams for emotionally scaring a group of small children all those years ago.

That was just the beginning. Since then I’ve had to deal with lovable aliens going home, underdogs beating the odds, loved ones dying and so many more. I still can’t watch the first ten minutes of Up without tearing up or when Arnie tries to wake mama up in What’s Eating Gilbert Grape…gets me every time.

Some movies caught me off guard. I watched Kick-Ass for the first time three months after my pops had passed away and Big Daddy’s death scene really hit home. I have a similar connection to the movie Brother Bear, watched it months after my mom had passed and it got me as well. Neither of the above mentioned movies were hard hitting dramas where a mentally challenged jewish child grows up to become an alcoholic genius who discovers the cure for the disease his wheel chair bound fiancé suffers from just hours before she dies but I connected with them due what I was going through at the time and to me, that makes them better.

I could sit here all day and name off movies that have brought me to tears but that wouldn’t be very interesting and eventually they’re going to kick me out of this Starbucks, so I’ll try to wrap this up.

Whether they are tears of joy or sadness, films have been making me look like a prepubescent teenage girl for years. There have been good times and bad times and Uwe Boll times. I look forward to many more years of sobbing through a mouthful of popcorn as Forest loves Jenny and Schindler makes lists.

Be sure to check back with us in a couple weeks to see if I was right and to read our review of Man Of Steel.

~D

Comments
  1. Hello I am so glad I found your blog, I really found you by
    accident, while I was searching on Digg for something else, Anyways
    I am here now and would just like to say thank you for a incredible post and a
    all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the moment but
    I have bookmarked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have
    time I will be back to read more, Please do keep
    up the excellent b.

Leave a Reply

