Arnold’s Return

Posted: May 24, 2013 in Op-ed, Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

I just finished watching the film The Last Stand. For those of you unfamiliar, the film is Arnold Schwarzenegger’s return to leading roles since he left the Governors seat. Rewind 15-18 years to when I was just a young boy. Arnold was my hero and my all time favorite actor and remained so until he retired to enter politics. I loved T2, Commando, Total Recall, True Lies, and even Jingle All The Way.

Fast forward to 2012, Arnold did an expanded cameo in the Expendables 2 expanding on his cameo from the first film. I was so excited to see him back in the game kicking ass and taking names and it ended up being everything I wanted it to be. It set the stage for his full fledged comeback in The Last Stand, which I unfortunately missed in theaters. The film was everything one would want it to be, Arnold being Arnold with a pretty decent supporting cast in Forrest Whitaker, Luis Guzman, Peter Stormare, and Johnny Knoxville. The script is decent for what it is (I mean honestly, are you really expecting Inception?).

To sum up, it is a really great flick and is the perfect way for Arnold to make his big return. I can’t wait to keep seeing him kick ass for several more years to come.

-Heath

Don’t call it a comeback!

Gave this a watch this morning and wasn’t disappointed(unless you count Peter Stormares attempt at a southern accent). Arnolds return to film, his first leading role since T3, was exactly what I was expecting, only better. There are no twists or surprises, only what I’ve come to love from Mr. “Come with me if you want to live”, ass kicking and the occasional one liner.

This movie is right in Schwarzeneggers wheelhouse, bad guys doing bad guy things and Arnold is the only one who can stop them, add car chases, gun fights, a dash of laughs and bake at 450 or until everyones ass has been kicked.

All in all I dug this flick and look forward to his next
-D

Leave a comment